Skip to main content

Paid Leave Oregon Program


The Hartford insurance company logoEugene School District 4J has selected The Hartford insurance company to administer benefits under Oregon’s new paid family leave program.

The program allows employees to take paid time off for some of life’s most important moments, including the birth of a child, caring for yourself or a family member while seriously ill or injured. In addition, it can be used to look after yourself or a family member after experiencing harms such as sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment or stalking.

The district has begun paying benefits under the program. It's important that 4J employees apply for benefits through The Hartford only, and not through the state-managed program. An application filed with the state program will result in a denial and a delay in receiving benefits. Call 1-888-301-5615 or visit its website to reach The Hartford. General inquires about the 4J program can be sent to

Information from The Hartford

(click to enlarge)

Graphic Showing The Hartford Information

Claims Process & Timeline

(click to enlarge)

Paid Leave Claims Process & Timeline

How It Works

Starting January 1, 2023, Eugene School District 4J and its employees will begin paying into Oregon’s new paid leave program, Paid Leave Oregon.

Under the program, the wages of employees out on approved leave for a qualifying event will be paid out of a state-managed trust fund rather than by 4J for up to 12 weeks each year (up to 14 weeks for pregnancy-related medical leave). As under the current federal law, it will be illegal for employers to treat any employee badly or to fire them for taking time off through Paid Leave Oregon.

Both 4J and its employees are required to pay into the system, with the district contributing 0.4% of an employee’s gross wages and employees contributing 0.6% of their earnings. As examples, an employee earning $18 an hour would have $18.72 a month deducted from their paycheck, while an employee making $60,000 annually would contribute $30 a month.

Employees can start applying for benefits under the state paid leave program on September 3, 2023. The amount the program pays employees depends on how much they’ve earned the prior year, but some workers may receive their full weekly earnings.

Contributions Graphic for Paid Family Leave Oregon

Frequently Asked Questions

What kind of leave is covered?

• Family Leave — Birth of child, bonding with child, care for a family member with serious illness or injury
• Medical Leave — Self-care when you have a serious illness or injury
• Safe Leave — Time off for survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment or stalking

How much leave can I take?

You can take up to 12 weeks of paid time off of work in a year. If you are pregnant, have given birth or have health issues related to childbirth, you may be able to take up to two more weeks for a total of 14 weeks. You can take a leave a week or a single day at a time.

How much will it cost?

Paid Leave Oregon is a program that both employers and employees pay into.

• Employees will pay .006 (or 0.6%) of their gross pay.

• Employers will pay .004 (or 0.4%) of employee’s gross pay

More answers to common questions

More Information

These links provide greater detail about the program:

Seeking more information?